How to join the journey

Wherever you live, there are many ways you can take part in this extraordinary national commemoration:

How to follow the Tuia 250 Voyage

Track the flotilla with the Tuia 250 Voyage Tracker.

Watch the live broadcast of the arrival of the voyaging waka of the Tuia 250 Flotilla during opening events in Tūranganui-a-Kiwa (Gisborne) on Saturday 5 October on TV1 and Māori TV.

Follow us on social media: Use #Tuia250 on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Follow the Tuia 250 Voyage Trainees: 450 New Zealanders aged 14 and up who have successfully applied to help sail the flotilla vessels will be reporting on their journey. This is an experience of a lifetime, and we will be sharing their creative responses to this inspirational journey on our social media channels.

Visit the vessels. The vessel crews will be offering opportunities to learn about Pacific, Māori and European sailing and navigation traditions. These will include interactive activities, displays, a Star Dome and guest speakers. Vessels will be open for the public to go onboard at many locations, where possible. Check the flotilla’s passage to plan your visit.

How to get involved in Tuia – Encounters 250

Find an event near you using our event calendar: you’ll find walking tours, exhibitions, boat excursions and more, all related to the Tuia 250 themes.

Explore our Learn section so you can find out more about traditional Pacific voyaging and the onshore encounters between Māori and Pākehā in 1769-70.

Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest News about Tuia 250.


Te Au Mārie 1769 Sestercentennial Trust  logo
Mercury 250 Trust logo
Tōtaranui 250 Trust  logo
Te Hā 1769 Sestercentennial Trust logo
Te Toki Voyaging Trust logo
Australian National Maritime Museum logo
R. Tucker Thompson Sail Training Trust  logo
Tahiti Voyaging Society  logo
Spirit of Adventure Trust logo
Te Kura o ngā Kurī a Tarawhata logo


Tūranganui-a-Kiwa Gisborne

Ūawa Tolaga Bay

Whitianga Mercury Bay

Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland


Pēwhairangi Bay of Islands

Te Aurere Doubtless Bay

Waitohi Picton

Wairau Te Waiharakeke Blenheim

Te Whanganui a Tara Wellington

Whakaraupō Lyttleton